Archives‎ > ‎

SRS 2014

Student Research Symposium 2014

This document contains archived material from the 2014 Symposium.

2014 Winners

  • Best Presentation Award: Swabha Swayamdipta ($500)
  • Honorable Mentions: Volkan Cirik and Bhavana Dalvi($100 each)
  • Best Poster Award: Yulia Tsvetkov and Lu Jiang ($100 each)

Talk Abstracts

  • Xuezhe MaUnsupervised Dependency Parsing with Transferring Distribution via Parallel Guidance and Entropy Regularization
  • Swabha SwayamdiptaDiversity in dependency parsing
  • Volkan CirikContext-Aware Word Vectors using Substitute Word Distributions
  • Dishan GuptaUnsupervised Phrasal Near-Synonym Generation from Text Corpora
  • Diyi YangQuestion Recommendation with Constraints for Massive Open Online Courses
  • Zhiting HuDeep Semantic Topic Modeling
  • Chenyan XiongQuery Expansion with Freebase
  • Bhavana DalviAutomatic Gloss Finding for a Knowledge Base using Ontological Constraints

Poster Abstracts

Poster Session
  • Tanmay Sinha, Who negatively influences me? Formalizing diffusion dynamics of negative exposure leading to student attrition in MOOCs
  • Yulia Tsvetkov, Optimality Theoretic Modeling of Lexical Borrowing
  • Volkan Cirik, Parsing Without Words or POS Tags: Dense Word Vectors Capture Sufficient Syntactic Information
  • Soo Jin Park, Noise Robust Speaker Identification: Enhanced Cepstral Coefficients and Pitch Transition with Exhaustive Model Training
  • William Yang Wang, Structure Learning via Parameter Learning
  • Lu Jiang, Viral Video Style: A Closer Look at Viral Videos on YouTube
  • Chu-Cheng Lin, Language Identification for Code-Switched Tweets with CRF Autoencoder

Keynote Speaker

Andrew Moore (Dean of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University)
Title: Andrew Moore reveals which is better: Academia or Industry

Organizing Committee

Program Committee
Jun Araki
Soumya Batra
Ralf Brown
Kai-Min Chang
Scott Fahlman
Manaal Faruqui
Judith Gelernter
Eduard Hovy
Yubin Kim
Meghana Kshirsagar
Prasanna Kumar Muthukumar
Florian Metze
Carolyn Penstein-Rose
Swabha Swayamdipta
Nikolas Wolfe

Faculty Support